Mian Fan

I think its time to take a break from my book designs and talk a bit about some of my identity projects. Mian Fan was a project that I worked on during the summer of 2013. I received a panicking phone call form one of my design friends at HoK. She basically told me that she needed a logo within 5 days and briefed me with the client’s needs and wants, then she hung up.

I was a bit confused but felt privileged to work on such a project. It is a noodle house that sells Shanghai cuisine in the heart of downtown Toronto. I did some research and started to sketch out some ideas.

I wanted to emphasize on the noodles but didn’t want an overwhelming logo. The idea was to give a very minimalistic but modern design that would be timeless.

Pages from Mian Fan Concepts Pages from Mian Fan Concepts-2

The first idea that I rendered was a noodle that transformed into a bowl. Followed by a pair of chopsticks to give notion that they are noodles and also I felt that it personalizes the composition a bit more. The red and yellow represented warm, tradition and energy.

The second idea was more of a word mark rendering. The serif typeface gave a traditional/historical feel and I decided to illustration the “F” with the combination of noodles and chopsticks.

After I got feedback from the client, here is what we pushed forward with.

Pages from Mian Fan Concepts 2

Mian Fan Rendering

The rendering was done by my friend so I cannot take credit for that but the final logo consists of the red shape bowl and it conveys the warmth of the product. The gradient orange to yellow noodle speaks depth and the chopsticks that compliments the composition.

Althought Mian Fan isn’t officially open yet, I am looking forward to the day of the tasty noodles.

Leave a Reply

